7 more pleasures of parenting

Last week I wrote about a revelation I had during one of many moments my toddler tornado took to the living room. That is, despite the drain from a very early morning start and a hyperactive toddler redecorating our living room with food crumbs and toy parts, I can choose to focus on the pleasures in parenting.

It was a conversation that I had with my husband, and one that I enjoyed writing for the blog. I was then pleasantly surprised by the beautiful responses from other mothers sharing their own little gestures with their children.

I was touched by how open and intimate these connections were and I couldn’t help capturing these moments between mother and child.

This is my little gesture to them.

7 more pleasures of parenting

7 more pleasures of parenting

From A Momma’s View

7 more pleasures of parenting

From A Pendulum World

7 more pleasures of parenting

From Motherhood, Monsters & Mountains

7 more pleasures of parenting

From The Champa Tree

7 more pleasures of parenting

From Catching Crawfish

7 more pleasures of parenting

From Snaps & Scribbles

7 more pleasures of parenting

From The View Inside

How about you?

What pleasures in parenting do you have and what tiny successes have you been collecting?

11 responses to “7 more pleasures of parenting

  1. Oh, I love all of these. My tiny successes are much the same as the ones you’ve highlighted. Making my 8 month-old laugh makes the rest of the world disappear. Hearing my 2 year-old say “I love you” to me or to someone else fills my heart. And the day he saw a plastic toy doughnut at a play group and called it a cream cheese bagel, I felt like I’d done something right as a mother. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have so much pleasure in parenting, but there are two moments that currently make my heart melt. First is my 7 month old boy standing up in his cot, arms raised ready to greet me in the morning with a massive grin. Second is watching him discover the world around him, and make these little exclamations of happiness when he finds something he likes (mostly the cats, but often the air-con controllers).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Too too cute! The best way to start the day is when you wake to a smile and a hug. I agree with you, you look at the world through a new perspective when you watch the little ones discover the world through all their senses. I’m so thankful you shared 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, this is lovely. Thanks so much for including my comment! I am so thankful for the parenting connections I make. Online or not, it is so comforting to relate to others, especially other mothers, on what is such a personal, meaningful, and trying journey.

    Like

  4. My baby girl has recently started exploring her hands and is super excited by clapping. She hasn’t figured out how to do it herself, but whenever I hold my hand up to her she high fives me so that she hears the sound. Her giggles afterwards are priceless!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My one year old leans her head towards mine and when we meet she locks her gaze on me ever so seriously. When I smile she can’t help but mirror it. I’ll cherish these moments forever 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

