Want calmer kids? Try the Happy Baby

It was a little unexpected and I’m not sure where my little one picked it up from. Out of the blue, he performed the Downward-Facing Dog. He was in a moment of play, bending from his hips and touching the floor with his hands, fingers spread out. It wasn’t yoga to him although he’d just joined the millions of Warriors who Salute the Sun. It was then I realised that this impromptu yogi moment could become something more.

Embed from Getty Images

And it did. This pose helped tame tantrums!

I also discovered that there were many other benefits to doing yoga with my little one. According to Giselle Shardlow, founder of Kids Yoga Stories, below are the top 5:

  • increases strength and flexibility
  • helps relax, unwind, and calm down
  • helps with sleeping better
  • improves fine and gross motor skills
  • develops self-confidence and self-expression

As a mother of a toddler, I was immediately drawn to the calming down benefit. Kids who can express themselves, generally have less meltdowns as they can communicate positively in other ways if their vocabulary hasn’t yet caught up. Sounds just heavenly.

Shardlow also says, “the principles of yoga offer self-calming techniques, which are great when it’s time to relax or go to bed.”

I’m not a practicing yogi so there were benefits for me in doing it regularly too. Aside from lots of bonding sessions with my son, I’m also improving my flexibility and helping myself relax and unwind and keep a clear mind.

If you’re interested, here’s a list of Kids Yoga Poses to try. Is it a coincidence that there are quite a few poses aptly named like Child’s Pose and Happy Baby? Let’s all go for Happy Baby!

Leave a Reply

