3 must-haves to help the body recover after birth and during breastfeeding

You have a beautiful bundle of joy but your body may feel a little broken. For weeks you’re sore everywhere. Everywhere. From head to toe. So I was keen to find products that would help me recover after birth, and fast! While there are plenty available, I’d like to share my 3 must haves* that I’d discovered to help the body recover after birth and also during breastfeeding.

Healing during breast-feeding

If you’re breast-feeding and not a pro from day one, here are 2 products I highly recommend to help with soreness or worse still, cracking and bleeding nipples.

  1. Lansinoh Lanolin Cream can help soothe and protect sore, cracked nipples. My sister made sure I had it ready and packed in my hospital bag. You can find it in most pharmacies. Thankfully it does NOT need to be removed before breastfeeding especially with a hungry, wailing baby. 
  2. Mepilex Lite is a thin effective absorbent foam dressing that can help with cracked and/or bleeding nipples. The dressing can be cut to size and can be re-applied after a feed. The dressing was recommended by my lactation consultant to help soothe and heal the delicate areas. These are available in the wound care section of a pharmacy.

Healing below your pelvis

You may be quite sensitive around ground zero. So the 3rd must have I’d warmly recommend is to take an Epsom salt bath.  Add a cup or two of Epsom salt to warm water in a standard-size bathtub. It’s generally recommended to soak in an Epsom salt bath for about 15 minutes up to three times per week to help soothe the aches and pains. Just check with your doctor first beforehand if you have other conditions such as high blood pressure or diabetes. You can find Epsom salts in a grocery store or pharmacy.

These were tips I had been recommended before and during Baby Boot camp (the first 12 weeks of your baby’s life and where you’re not the same ever again). Any other tried and tested fixes you’ve discovered? I’d love it if you please share.

Leave a Reply

