Top 5 tips for labour and birth

I’d never felt superhuman before. Months of speculating and over thinking how a grapefruit could squeeze out of a pin hole and worse yet, how that would feel eventually gave way to acceptance. My body had already prepared itself for 8 months but with significant weight gain causing ankle and hip issues it wasn’t a graceful transition. Yet somehow in the delivery room, with no birth plan I felt like superwoman. Going in I thought I would need every drug available for mankind but I didn’t. It did take a little gas, Pethidine and my husband’s jokes to keep it light-hearted and afterwards I was high on adrenaline and joy.

If you’re nervous about D-Day like I was, I would like to share my top 5 tips that helped me get through labour.

  1. Slowly breathe in through the nose and breathe out through the mouth with each contraction. As you breathe out count 1,2,3…through the length of your contractions and relax your shoulders.
  2. These positions help with contractions. Alternate between them if you prefer or pick one you like:
    • while standing you can rock your hips backwards and forwards or in a circle or sway your hips in a figure 8,
    • kneel on all fours,
    • sit on a fit ball and move in a figure 8 or a circle.
  3. Have hot showers during the birth, if permitted.
  4. Have your partner massage your back and ensure you get plenty of water.
  5. Play your favourite music. 

Know that it will be hard but try to rest, relax and eat to ensure you have your strength as it will be a long day. The calmer you are the smoother the birth will be.

Leave a Reply

